Bigger & Better Beyond the Boom Report Launch

Perth is a region in transition. Across Perth and Peel businesses, residents and governments are attempting to navigate the wake of the most significant period of mining and resource sector fueled growth in the state’s history.

Looking outwards, lead Indicators suggest that the region is not performing as well as it could be. In fact Perth is lagging and other cities in Australia and Asia are surpassing us. Competition is fierce as cities seek to be the most liveable, innovative and visited.

Now is the time to act!

We invite you to join us for the public launch of the results of two years of research that will catalyse action by revealing a clear pathway forward.

Bigger & Better Beyond the Boom: Perth's Pathway to Prosperity is a powerful new report by the Committee for Perth. It strips away the assumptions and generalisations about Perth being just another boom and bust economy and uses extensive and wide-ranging research to create the case for change.

The report details eleven high-level opportunities for Perth to seize which are accompanied by seven specific, targeted and actionable recommendations. When combined, they illuminate a path towards a prosperous and more stable economic future for the Perth region.

Actions arising from the report are actions directed at government and industry and will rely on collaboration within industries as well as across sectors and government.

This luncheon offers you the chance to be among the first to hear the opportunities for the Perth and Peel region and the recommendations that will move us from complacency to action. If you and your business are part of Perth's future, you need to be at the table to understand the case for change. By attending the event you will also have the chance to interrogate the findings via Q&A with a range of business leaders.

We look forward to laying out Perth's pathway to prosperity.

Meet our speakers and panellists

John Langoulant AO Image
John Langoulant AO

Chairman, Committee for Perth

John is currently Board Chairman at the Government Employees Superannuation Board, the Northern Territory’s Power and Water Corporation, Westpac Banking Group WA, Pawsey Supercomputer Centre, Rottnest Island Authority and the Dampier to Bunbury Gas Pipeline. John is a Director of The National Disability Insurance Agency. In other not-for-profit roles John chairs the Telethon Kids Institute and ARTrinsic. John is President of CEDA in WA. John was Western Australia’s Under Treasurer under the Court and Gallop governments and was CEO at CCIWA, Australian Capital Equity and Oakajee Port and Rail. John was elected to the Board in November 2009 for a period of three years until 2012. In November 2012 and 2015 he was re-elected for a further three year term.

Justin Carroll Image
Justin Carroll

Partner, PwC and Chair of the Bigger & Better Beyond the Boom Steering Committee

Justin is a PwC Perth Partner with over 27 years with the firm. Having recently completed a five year term as PwC’s Perth Managing Partner, Justin is now a member of PwC’s Australian Board of Governance, as well as the Asia Pacific Governance Board. He has worked in PwC’s Singapore, London and Sydney offices, with a focus on corporate governance, financial reporting assurance and technical accounting advice in both the public and private sectors. Justin was previously the leader of the Perth Assurance practice and continues to lead the audits of several major Western Australian organisations and subsidiaries of large international groups.

Justin is also a director of St John of God Health Care and The University of Notre Dame Australia and chairs the University’s Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.

Nadia van Dommellen Image
Nadia van Dommellen

Partner, PwC and Deputy Chair of the Bigger & Better Beyond the Boom Steering Committee

Nadia van Dommelen is a Partner in PwC’s Infrastructure and Urban Renewal practice with over 20 years of industry experience focused in project direction of building and infrastructure projects. She has undertaken key roles on some of Perth’s largest infrastructure projects, including METRONET, Perth Stadium, WA Schools PPP, Midland Health Campus, Fiona Stanley Hospital and CBD Courts.

Nadia is a Member of the Board of Trustees of the Perth Theatre Trust, Member of the Consultative Committee for ‘Project Management, Management Information Systems and Supply Chain & Logistics Management’ at the School of Business and Law at Edith Cowan University, Member of the National Development Committee and Local Fundraising Committee of HeartKids Australia, and a volunteer mentor for STEM programs aimed at developing problem solving and other 21st century skills, and inspiring and encouraging uptake of STEM subjects.

She holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Civil and Construction) from Curtin University.

Prof. Matthew Tonts Image
Prof. Matthew Tonts

Executive Dean | Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education, The University of Western Australia and FACTBase Convenor

Matthew is Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education at The University of Western Australia.

His research is focused on urban and regional development, with much of his recent work concerned with the shifting geography of corporate power, spatial labour markets and economic development and regional policy.

Gemma Davis Image
Gemma Davis

Contract Researcher, Committee for Perth

Gemma is a research, policy and strategic planning professional with 19 years of experience working in Australia, New Zealand and the Republic of Ireland. Gemma is a consultant for the Committee for Perth and was recently employed by the Committee as Manager of Research and Strategy. Gemma is currently a Director with Davis Consulting Group in New Zealand and is an Honorary Research Fellow with the University of Western Australia. Gemma has authored major reports for the Committee for Perth including the Get a Move On! Project.

Acknowledgement of Country

The Committee For Perth acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.